
UNSOLVED
A
alex_kuziola
23 Posts
0
3306
September 5th, 2000 18:00
Trial Versions
A while back, I installed a trial version of a product which expired after 10 days. The ten days past and just for the heck of it, I tried uninstalling it and reinstalling it and I found out that it somehow it remembers that the previous trial version had expired. How does it do this? I've always wanted to figure out how it remembered that the trial version had expired even after the program was uninstalled. Could anyone shed some light on my puzzle?
I know that it is a security feature to prevent people from reusing the program after its expiration, but I want to know how that security feature works.
I know that it is a security feature to prevent people from reusing the program after its expiration, but I want to know how that security feature works.
Responses (2)
Solutions (0)
Steve Anderson
677 Posts
152
0
Posted September 5th, 2000 19:00
Hi,
The normal way is to place a registry entry on your system which is not deleted when the program is Uninstalled. There are also severl other "tricks of the trade" ways to do this so that people can't easily use their registry editors to remove the tags.
Steve

blackjck
98 Posts
152
0
Posted September 5th, 2000 19:00