UNSOLVED

Alohavik

updated

18 years ago

A

Alohavik

7 Posts

0

10475

March 21st, 2009 19:00

How do I retore to Factory settings?

When you do a factory restore do you loose the operating system? Are you supposed to back it up before?

  • jackshack

    6447 Posts

    372

    0

    Posted March 21st, 2009 19:00

    If by factory restore you mean restoring the Dell back-up image, the restore will replace everything on the drive with the original software delivered by Dell.  Any data that you have stored on the computer should be backed up before you perform the procedure if you wish to keep it.

  • Alohavik

    7 Posts

    372

    0

    Posted March 21st, 2009 19:00

    Where is the back up image and how do I go about doing the restore my computer back to how it was as new?

  • SlamX

    1 Rookie

    •

    950 Posts

    372

    0

    Posted March 21st, 2009 22:00

    Your computer's manual tells you how. It is different between the XP and Vista machines.

    Or go to dell.com and read how on there.

  • bubbs72

    1 Message

    372

    0

    Posted March 21st, 2009 23:00

    No, it takes it back to where you open the brand new box.  It tells you how to perform this reset. 

    Here is the link you need to do this.  http://support.dell.com/support/topics/global.aspx/support/dsn/en/document?c=us&docid=58E26A65A4388E4FE040AE0AB7E107E3&l=en&s=gen#man_osri_task1

  • TheRealFireblad

    4 Apprentice

    •

    4639 Posts

    372

    0

    Posted March 22nd, 2009 03:00

    Restoring your [Dell] computer to the factory settings :emotion-5:

     

    As advised, it wipes your hard drive in the process, so make sure you backup anything important to you first :emotion-55:

  • RobinBredin

    6 Operator

    •

    3717 Posts

    372

    0

    Posted March 22nd, 2009 04:00

    Hi Alohavik, You did not say what, and if, you had an problem. However, have you tried doing an windows restore by taking your system back to an time before you had the problem. This will save you time by reinstalling your OP.