Does using the repurposing or retiring system in the Dell PowerEdge R720 actually wipe out all the data from the disks including the OS or is using a software like DBAN a better option for to wipe the data clean? Thank you.
You can use "Repurpose or retire system" feature of lifecycle controller to delete all data from the system and disks. You can refer below link for more details.
Does repurposing or retiring the system scrub the NVDIMM-N and clear the tpm? Also something to note for other people who read this thread. I would highly commend factory resetting the idrac before Repurpose and retire. The repurpose and retire does not always clear the idrac. I'm guessing it has something to do with a bug.
@DELL-Shine K Are you sure this deletes data from nvme's and disk drives? From the option titles, I'm not convinced it will wipe data ( operating system and other data ) from the disk drives.
@DELL-Young E If the IDRAC (reset default settings) is left uncheck. It will absolutely leave the idrac settings in place? I am remote I don't want to come in and reconfigure the idrac :)
I cant find the options mentioned above. There is only "Delete Configuration and reset defaults" option, does Poweredge R320 have the "Repurpose or retire system" feature as well?
Thanks for the information. Is there an alternative way which i can wipe out all the data in the drive, without having to perform the upgrade? As the servers are planning to decommissioned.
Will deleting the RAID - virtual disks and "Delete Configuration and reset defaults" works the same as the "Repurpose or Retire System" feature?
The Repurpose or Retire System feature is supported on the 12th generation PowerEdge servers with iDRAC and Lifecycle Controller version 2.10.10.10 or later. You can use this feature on selective components. Whereas, on the 12th generation of PowerEdge servers with iDRAC and Lifecycle Controller version 2.05.05.05 or earlier, this feature is supported only on the entire system and not selective components.
From the information, can i say that "Delete Configuration and reset defaults" feature also works the same, that includes removing the data from the drive?
DELL-Shine K
6 Operator
•
3042 Posts
3190
0
Posted January 6th, 2022 03:00
You can use "Repurpose or retire system" feature of lifecycle controller to delete all data from the system and disks. You can refer below link for more details.
https://www.dell.com/support/manuals/en-us/idrac7-8-lifecycle-controller-v2.30.30.30/lc_2.10.10.10_ug/repurpose-or-retire-system?guid=guid-0239f793-bfa0-4af7-8a47-e823356a1aa2&lang=en-us
Please ensure you have latest iDRAC FW installed on the server