In the "Policy" window, on the "Policy Management" tab you will see two tabs, "Groups" and "Clients". Select the "Clients" tab, select the appropriate client domain in the tree underneath, then select your client from the list on the right.
Select "Edit Client" from the context menu or by clicking the appropriate button, then uncheck the "Activated" checkbox and save your changes. Once that's done, you should be able to reactivate the client with no issues.
Even though Ian's answer is correct and the preferred way of doing things.
There is another way to do what you want to do which is to "retire" the client keeping the existing retention on backed up data. Retiring will basically move the client to "MC_Retired" domain in Avamar and then you can re-register your client with Avamar (to the appropriate Avamar domain)
Keep in mind that the cid.bin file entry will change as part of this process and you will have to add the client to any of the policies that it belonged to before.
If you are not comfortable with retiring clients then forget about this post
ionthegeek
2 Intern
•
2049 Posts
10432
4
Posted January 22nd, 2014 06:00
In the "Policy" window, on the "Policy Management" tab you will see two tabs, "Groups" and "Clients". Select the "Clients" tab, select the appropriate client domain in the tree underneath, then select your client from the list on the right.
Select "Edit Client" from the context menu or by clicking the appropriate button, then uncheck the "Activated" checkbox and save your changes. Once that's done, you should be able to reactivate the client with no issues.