
UNSOLVED
Closed
Clear enrolled fingerprint stored before HD format
I had to format my D620 HD today. After getting the system reinstalled, I am unable to store the same fingerprint (from the same finger) as I used prior to the format. I am able to store/enroll fingerprints from other fingers, but the main index fingerprint won't save. Embassy Security Center gives the message "Fingerprint is already enrolled. Cannot enroll this fingerprint." I have tried clearing the TPM chip, but it just won't let me use the same fingerprint that I used before. I am only using this for Windows login. Anyone know how to force a reset of stored fingerprints on the D620? Apparently it is storing them in hardware somewhere, but I don't know where.
Responses (6)
Solutions (0)
- Actually, I found the answer! I called Dell, and they didn't know, but while I was working with the guy on the phone, I did some experimenting. I found that in order to clear the stored fingerprint, the computer name and the login name must match what was used prior to formatting the HD. In my case they did, but I had actually used my domain name and login name initially. As long as the Domain or Computer Name as well as the login name are the same, you will be able to see and clear the stored fingerprint. Once cleared, you can change the computer name and login name back to whatever you want.
The only answer Dell had was to replace the fingerprint reader, which is apparently where this is stored. They did not have any information on how to reset it. However Dell was very happy to receive this information, and said that they will update thier knowledgebase based on this finding.Message Edited by GardBrown on 05-01-200611:28 AM
AngieTheGreat
3 Posts
1402
0
Posted May 2nd, 2006 12:00
I hope this helps
Message Edited by AngieTheGreat on 06-02-200609:22 AM
apexhealthcare
4 Posts
1402
0
Posted June 9th, 2006 17:00
Coming in a little late on this, but I too ran into the same issue...I thought about using the same user name, but didn't think about the computer name, so that's a good backup plan.However, on another post on the forums I found that there is a tool to erase all the fingerprint stores. From what I can tell it erases all fingerprints, so keep that in mind.Assuming you used the default install settings go to:C:\Program Files\Wave Systems Corp\Dell Preboot Manager\tempIn that folder you should find one file: deleteusers.exeYou will need to copy a file into that folder for it to run correctly. Go up one folder to:C:\Program Files\Wave Systems Corp\Dell Preboot ManagerAnd copy the "vtapi.dll" to the temp folder where the "deleteusers.exe" resides. Then you can run it by double-clicking it...a cmd console appears and eventually throws up a message asking if you want to delete all users. After that I would suggest clearing the TPM in the BIOS just to be safe.apexhealthcare
4 Posts
1402
0
Posted June 9th, 2006 19:00
Verified...at least in a small setting. Basically I just got these units and haven't released them to their owners. I had created a user at some point and attatched the fingerprint to it. Then I reloaded because of a different error. When I tried to use that fingerprint on the Administrator account that's when I got the message abour it's already enrolled.Using the method I posted I was able to clear it, but I can't speak of what the results may be if you had multiple users and fingerprints and such...but in theory it shouldn't be any different.Just remember it clears ALL fingerprints...I would really like to see a selective delete application, but from what I can tell that's what the paid premium version is for...bah!

dclock
3 Posts
1402
0
Posted May 1st, 2006 14:00