Using SourceOne 6.8, is there a process that MOVES a PST to a centralized location before migrating? I'm unaware of any process like this, but I'm being told that it's true. Anyone know?
There are a couple of options when working with PST's, but these are for only for post-activities:
1) Delete files
If you select this option, then a warning message appears: Not all data may be archived because this activity does not support all item types supported by mail files. This activity only processes email messages, so deleting the PST or NSF file could result in the loss of any other data types in the mail file.
2) Keep files
If you selected the Keep files option:
a. To specify the destination of the PST files or NSF files, do one of the following steps:
- To move the files to another location, select the Move to the following location checkbox, click the Browse button, and specify the location.
- To keep the files in their current location, clear the Move to the following location checkbox (default).
b. To specify whether or not the files should be read-only, do one of the following steps:
- To make the files read-only, select the Mark read-only checkbox.
- To retain the current permissions on the files, clear the Mark read-only checkbox (default).
Thank you very much for the answer but I'm just a little confused here. You say that these are post activities. Please be more specific. WHERE are you saying we can choose the move. In your answer #2 Part A you state we can
To specify the destination of the PST files or NSF files, do one of the following steps:
- To move the files to another location, select the Move to the following location checkbox, click the Browse button, and specify the location.
Exactly where is this in the post activities. I don't see this anywhere in the SourceOne. Please let me know exactly where this is. Screen shot would be great too.
IT_Warlock
48 Posts
617
0
Posted February 28th, 2013 13:00
Hello Taft,
There are a couple of options when working with PST's, but these are for only for post-activities:
1) Delete files
If you select this option, then a warning message appears: Not all data may be archived because this activity does not support all item types supported by mail files. This activity only processes email messages, so deleting the PST or NSF file could result in the loss of any other data types in the mail file.
2) Keep files
If you selected the Keep files option:
a. To specify the destination of the PST files or NSF files, do one of the following steps:
- To move the files to another location, select the Move to the following location checkbox, click the Browse button, and specify the location.
- To keep the files in their current location, clear the Move to the following location checkbox (default).
b. To specify whether or not the files should be read-only, do one of the following steps:
- To make the files read-only, select the Mark read-only checkbox.
- To retain the current permissions on the files, clear the Mark read-only checkbox (default).
Hope this helps!
Cheers,
Brad