You can't fight stupidity of humans - you can only fire them off. If you force something than it is obvious you are forcing something and you are on your own. I believe bingo already addressed what happens in such cases, but if one does something wrong then there will never never guarantee that outcome won't be wrong either.
NetWorker will label volume ONLY if volume is eligible for recycling. Volume is eligible for recycling when all save sets and depend save sets on it (elsewhere) have retention passed.
You may have auto media management enabled, which enabled NetWorker to use unknown/new/unlabelel tapes which potentially may lead in use of existing volume that shouldn't be used if data about volume has been removed from database. By default this feature is disabled (meaning you must have enable it if this is enabled at your site).
Mati1
5 Posts
1002
0
Posted April 10th, 2014 01:00
Thanks for your reply.
I'm talking about forced label action and not automatic process.
I'm talking about human mistake of writing a label on volume, while there is another volume with the same name.
you right regarding the eligibility of recycling. non-eligible recycling volume will not write the label.
-mati